A Sweet Visit

A few days after Papa and Gramma left a few more of our wonderful TX family members came in for a visit – my parents and little sister. My little sister, who is supposed to be 12 years old, wanted to visit Boyce, where J and I attended college, as a prospect for her college attendance next year! Oh, wow. So she and my parents were able to combine a visit there with staying for several days to have some quality time with the three of us. We hadn’t seen them since March so we were eager to have them with us. 

Again, AK was delighted! She immediately wanted to walk with her “Nomie” (my Mom) – they have such a sweet relationship – and she just chatted away with all of them. Her days were filled to the brim with smiles and giggles as she played, twirled, read, took walks, had park visits, and special treat outings with Papa, Nomie, and Auntie Meg. It was precious to watch her with them, seeing special memories be made in those moments. She sure does love them!

We took them to several of our favorite eateries around town and I think we got them hooked on pretty much all of them. My poor hubby and little sis both came down with rough cases of allergies for a couple of the days they were here so we enjoyed a couple evenings and afternoons of lounging, watching movies, and just enjoying one another’s company. As always, there was a lot of good food involved in our time being together, which I love because that means I get some good cooking-in-the-kitchen-with-mom time. She’s the one who taught me to cook and bake, instilled in me a love for serving my family and friends in that way, and the one in whom I first saw a pure delight for being in the kitchen. So time spent in the kitchen with her is one of my most favorite pastimes. Plus, she royally spoils me when she’s here by doing multitudes of dishes (we don’t have a dishwasher) and that is a true blessing! 

J and Dad were able to have a man lunch time together which J is always thankful for and gives them time to chat and catch up just the two of them. Let me add-in here, J and I are seriously both so blessed to have married into the families that we did. The more that goes by the more we realize how rare that is and our gratitude increases. Deeply thankful for that gift! Anyways……I also got to spend some good girly time with mom and Meg both together and separately which was precious for me. Those times are so rare.

It was truly a blessing of a visit, in many ways. Mom and dad know the full extent of that and for that, you two, we say thank you, thank you, thank you. You are true servants and we are humbled and grateful. 

It was weird and wonderful to see my baby sister all grown up talking to people about college and telling us her thoughts and plans. We are so proud of her and thankful for the godly woman she continually grows into. We sure don’t have any problems with her moving here next fall for college. In fact, we think it’s the wisest choice. 

Grateful for another gift of a visit. The Lord is continually gracious to allow these times spent with our dear family. We are anxious to get back to TX soon to see our 3 other fabulous siblings and two darling nephews as well. Trusting the time will come soon! 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

One thought on “A Sweet Visit

Leave a Reply

