Some Picks of the Week

Something to Read: A Mother’s Heart by Jean Fleming. At the top of my list for mommy books. My sweet mom gave me this book on Mothers Day when I was pregnant with Little. I read bits and pieces then, but over the last few months I read through it to completion with a dear friend of mine. It is truly gospel-centered, filled with honest insights about mothering and practical wisdom and thoughts on how to carry out our role as mommy in a godly, loving, creative way. I finished the book deeply encouraged, challenged, and inspired in my role as a mother. Motherhood is a gift — a sanctifying, beautiful gift. I highly recommend this book!

Something to Make: Beignets with Quick Homemade Blackberry Jam.  J and I first had beignets on a weekend away in Chicago a few years ago. You had to order them when you ordered your dinner if that was your choice for dessert so they could make them hot and fresh. They were served with 3 different dipping sauces and they were, without a doubt, one of the best dishes we’ve ever eaten! We watched Bobby Flay make these beignets on Cooking Channel the other day and have been craving them since. We are having a special breakfast for dinner tonight and the dough is rising as I write. So far, so good…and easy! I am counting down the minutes until we get to experience the delectable result.

Image

photo courtesy of Cooking Channel


Something to Cherish: Moments like this…………

Image

We have an exciting weekend and next week ahead, filled with visits from family, a little roadtrip, and a wedding of dear friend. Thankful for these beautiful October days!

Have a Happy Friday!!

One thought on “Some Picks of the Week

Leave a Reply

