Some Picks of the Week

Something to Read: The girltalk blog. I’ve mentioned it before here. It’s filled with constant encouragement, practical wisdom, and life humor, all founded on gospel truth. They wrote a 2-Part blog on How to Handle Public Tantrums (Part 1. Part 2.) and it was excellent! My fellow mothers and I were all passing it around to one another this past week. It was especially timely as several of my friends and I have recently been talking to, praying for, and asking each other’s thoughts on how to best handle such situations in a biblical way. The blog refreshed my mommy heart and has given my husband and I encouragement and helpful ideas as we seek to love and parent our girl well in this way. I’m thankful for how the Lord is using it and for what He is teaching us as we think and pray through these things. I will share in a later blog some of what we have decided to implement and how we are growing and learning in our seeking to practice it.

Something to Meditate On: “Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one. You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.” Deuteronomy 6:4-9

This verse is one I am committing to memory. It is a verse that we pray we live out faithfully daily in our home and our parenting.

Something to Make: We made these Stuffed Shells with Arrabbiata Sauce the other evening and they were amazing. J and I both couldn’t wait to eat the leftovers the next day! I halved the recipe and filled an 8-by-8 glass baking dish, and we basically got 3 meals out of it. It would be a great meal to serve to guests with a light salad and french bread. The stuffing for the shells is pure creamy goodness and the pancetta adds such a great flavor to the sauce. It’s a new family favorite.

Image

photo courtesy of Food Network

Something to Be Thankful For: Dear friends. How have I been blessed by my friends? Oh, let me count the ways! The Lord has been overwhelmingly kind in the many beautiful women He has gifted to me as friends. There are so many of them, both here in KY and throughout the rest of the country. I could fill volumes on how these women have encouraged me, challenged me, spurred me on, spoken truth to me, loved me, cried with me, made me laugh uncontrollably, learned with me, taught me, and been ever faithful testimonies of Jesus to me. These are women who love Jesus most and seek Him first and that is seen in their marriages, their mothering, their ministering, their homes, their careers, and their every day living. I am humbled and unspeakably thankful to have each one of them as my friends and sisters. How good our God is to grant us such people to walk through this life with. What a blessing to grow, learn, and be sanctified together. My friends, every.single.one. of you is a gift to me, in so many ways. I praise the Lord for each one of you and count it a true joy and privilege to walk through life with you. Thank you for walking with me and for spurring me on to love and reflect Jesus more. You are each precious to me and I love you dearly.

Leave a Reply

