Some Picks of the Week

Something to Make: The other night, we made the best potato soup we’ve ever had. It was like comfort in a bowl. It was the meal where you barely talk because you are so focused on the food. I don’t know that we will ever make a different type of potato soup. The recipe is from a blog I follow, Annapolis and Company.  I love her blog. She has such a sweet heart, she shares in such a real way, and truly focuses on delighting in the everyday – whatever that day holds, whatever the Lord is working – soaking it up, sharing it, and learning from it. I’ve been so inspired and thoroughly encouraged by her blog and her writing. Go take some time to read it. She also shares incredible recipes and beautiful pictures of food on her blog which, being a lover of food, I enjoy. We’ve made several recipes of her’s and loved every one. The potato soup was no different. After one go-round it has become a fall/winter tradition for our home.

IMG_7345

Something to Use: I know there are many different tools for budgeting, but I just wanted to share quickly the one we use. We use Mint.com and it has been fabulous in helping us to stay on top of our budget. It is an online tool and you can also download the app for it, which is excellent for quick reference when you are out and about or, if you’re like me, use an iPad or other tablet more than than a desktop computer. I will go into further detail as to how it has helped us and specifics of how we use it in a later post, but for now, if you are looking for a budget tool I recommend this one!

Something to Cherish: Little and I had our first mommy/daughter nail-painting experience yesterday. I loved it, so much. She was a little weirded out when I asked her if she wanted me to paint her toenails, but when I showed her on her fingernail she got really excited so we went for that this first time. In “firsts” like this, I love to watch her facial expressions. She goes from intense focus to giggles to my favorite scrunchy nose smile. As she takes it all in, I just take her in. These are those moments that I want to soak up every little ounce of. These are those sweet moments that I will cherish forever.

IMG_7370

I hope you all have a beautiful weekend!

Leave a Reply

