Some Picks of the Week

Something to Eat: As anyone who has tried some of her recipes knows, the Pioneer Woman knows what she’s talking about with food. Her cookbooks don’t leave my countertop — they are well-loved and well-used. She didn’t disappoint when it came to this recipe for her French Silk Pie. I made it twice in a week. It is so rich, so smooth, and so. darn. good.  It is also simple to make which is always an added bonus. It’s the perfect dessert to have for company or bring to a gathering and it’s also a fabulous little treat with an afternoon cup of coffee.

9834117214_aa41bcc75a_z

photo courtesy of The Pioneer Woman Blog

Something to Make: As we were pulling our Christmas decorations out in early December, I discovered that I didn’t have a great option for a table centerpiece. I wanted to keep it simple this year and also on the reasonably-priced side, as it is something that you only have up for a month-ish. As I was researching the ever-faithful Pinterest, I came across this pin I had pinned a while ago and thought I would make Christmas placemats for the table and just get a poinsettia for the center. Being a perfectionist, I got oober-particular about how the letters were coming out. I had completed the placemat with “joy” written on it and was pleased with how that one turned out so I decided, rather than doing 4 placemats, for now I would just use that one as a centerpiece and put the poinsettia and a couple of candles on top of it. A simple arrangement, but I loved it against the dark wood of our table.  I love the simplicity of the placemat and want to make a set with normal eating-type words in the future for everyday enjoyment.

IMG_7689

This picture was taken right after I did it, so the poinsettia and the other candle were not on-hand yet. I went with a white poinsettia and loved how it popped against the dark wood of the table.

Something to Read: Earlier this week, our pastor linked to this blog on the Gospel Coalition that gives various plans for reading the Bible through in a year. Justin Taylor wrote the blog and he gives helpful ideas for different types of readers, encouraging us all to be faithful to just be in the Word. This is one way I am seeking to grow in diligence. I need His truth to be filling my heart and mind every day and to do that, I must be IN His Word, studying, growing, and deepening my understanding of it.

“All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work.” 2 Timothy 3:16-17

Something to Dwell On: “God is so vastly wonderful, so utterly and completely delightful, that He can, without anything other than Himself, meet and overflow the deepest demands of our total nature, mysterious and deep as that nature is.” — A.W. Tozer, The Pursuit of God

Leave a Reply

