Some Picks of the Week

One day early this week because tomorrow is a special day……

Something to Decorate with: Through a blog I follow I came across these adorable art prints — perfect for a kitchen wall. They are sold in just the print, or a framed print, or as a stretched canvas. I love the Cacio e Pepe as pasta is a favorite thing of mine. These prints would also make a great gift for a “foodie” in your life.

Something to Bake: Magic Bars. One of the most wonderful combinations of sweet goodness ever. They are the bars you bring to a friend’s house or a gathering and when people spot them they say, “ohhhhh. Those are those bars, right!?” And they are gone within 20 minutes. They are a favorite late-night treat for Jas and I. Really….they are magic.

65e827b1cbb3788bbc6a1b661c86d038

Something to Meditate on: The devotional I was reading this morning was talking about the hope that Christ brought us, through His death, when we were “dead in our trespasses and sins.” One of my favorite verses in Scripture that is such a clear picture of what we are without Christ, God’s love and mercy toward us, and what we are then with Christ, is Ephesians 2:1-10:

“And you were dead in your trespasses and sins in which you once walked, following the course of this world, following the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that is now at work in the sons of disobedience – among whom we all once lived in the passions of our flesh, carrying out the desires of the body and the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, like the rest of mankind. But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ – by grace you have been saved – and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of words, so that no one may boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” Ephesians 2:1-10 (ESV)

My two favorite words in that passage are the ones I’ve highlighted – “BUT GOD.” Without those two words we would be lost and hopeless. But we aren’t without those words. Our God is merciful and “because of the great love with which he loved us,” we are no longer lost or hopeless. We are found, saved, and have the hope of eternity spent with Him. May we never stop mediating on that truth.

Something to Cherish: This beautiful little darling…..

_MG_6259

She is growing up so much. She changes every day. Jas and I talk about how we now understand what our parents always meant when they would say, “It goes by so fast. I just can’t believe it.” We now say that all the time. And it’s true. I am constantly reminded as I watch this little treasure that God has entrusted to us grow, learn, and discover every day. Her vocabulary has absolutely exploded and the other day she stopped herself and changed her “baby” word for feet, which was “kees” (there’s a story behind that), to actually say “feet.” And my heart broke a little bit, I’m not going to lie. It was such a clear evidence of her getting bigger. I really do love it all though. And since I was pregnant with her one of my prayers has been that I will never wish away a stage or overly mourn the passing of a stage. I don’t want to get so caught up in what is past or what is ahead. I want to cherish the days, each one with whatever they bring and whatever I am learning. Soaking up every stage of being mommy to my precious daughter and being faithful in that moment, in that day. I am grateful to see how fast time does go because it helps me slow down, stop, and savor the moments. And there are so many of them.

Enjoy a wonderful day, friends!

Leave a Reply

