hungry for God

I read this quote during my quiet time today:

“If you don’t feel strong desires for the manifestation of the glory of God, it is not because you have drunk deeply and are satisfied. It is because you have nibbled so long at the table of the world. Your soul is stuffed with small things, and there is no room for the great.” — John Piper, A Hunger for God

That middle sentence has been echoing in my mind all day, It is because you have nibbled so long at the table of the world.” It has kick-started needed thoughts in me today. Where am I nibbling at this table? What, in my heart, mind, and life, am I pursuing satisfaction in other than God? In what ways am I hungering more for the world than I am for Him?

In my journal I’ve been making a list as I think of areas where I see myself seeking to fulfill a hunger. Earthly pleasures that have become distractions and un-fulfilling idols in my life. This is an area where I need to often take inventory. I need to be more prayerful for the Lord to help me discern these “nibblings” and prayerful that I will, by His grace and strength, set aside these distractions and put these pleasures in their place. Many of them are good blessings and provisions He has granted in my life, but I have to be so careful that they do not become more than that, more than Him.

I want my heart to hunger for God alone. To live according to this verse…..

“Whom have I in heaven but You? And besides You, I desire nothing on earth. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” — Psalm 73:25,26

That portion I highlighted, I can honestly say, is not fully true in my life. And, oh, how I desire it to be. I am thankful for the Lord’s continued work in my heart to tear away every shred of desire for anything more than Him. To be set on heavenly things, not on earthly things. To hunger for righteousness, not for earthly satisfaction.

Praise God for His revealing these things to me!

Leave a Reply

