today

Today we are home. All day long. And those are days we love. Especially when accompanied by clouds, some rain, and slightly chillier temperatures. It makes being cozy inside even cozier. Plus, when the weather changes AK and I both experience bad allergies. Welcome to the Ohio River Valley……yuck. So, being inside and being cozy is even more appealing and wonderful.

Little made some artwork today that we are going to hang up in her room. I love when she paints. She wears one of my old tshirts which hangs down to her ankles, we put on music, and she dives into creative mode. I love watching her little imagination at work and hearing her explanation of each picture she paints. My little artist. IMG_8571

My mind has been full with thoughts of family and friends today. There’s just a lot going on. I have friends facing really heavy, difficult circumstances, some facing sad, disappointing circumstances, and others facing frustrating, discouraging circumstances, and I wish I could just take it for them and make it all better. Last night my heart was overwhelmed with thinking of all them facing these things, but as I was sharing the details of each situation with Jas, I just began to feel so thankful. Thankful that my friends, people I care about and love very much, can face these circumstances covered with the love and grace of God. Thankful that we can cast all our cares on Him and leave them at the foot of the cross, trusting Him with His sovereign purpose. Thankful that we can all rest in the truth that He is working all things together for good, in the circumstances and in our hearts. I told Jas, I just can’t imagine walking through these hardships of life without the hope of Jesus. That even when we are neck-deep or sometimes completely submerged in the yuck and tragedy that this life brings, we can have hope. Hope in a God that is the same everyday and who, in His perfect wisdom and love, is ruling over all these different situations. As I pray for my dear ones and seek to encourage them, I want to entrust their precious hearts and lives to Jesus most of all, and pray He fills them with that peace that surpasses understanding. And I know He will be faithful to do it.

My baby sister is graduating high school this week. I seriously don’t know when she grew up. But she did. And now she is graduating and I’m just so proud of her. She has grown into such a beautiful, thoughtful, wise, generous, kind, and talented woman and I’m just thankful to have the gift of being her big sister. She has such a tender, gentle, sensitive heart for Jesus and I have learned so much from watching her walk through these last couple years. It breaks my heart to not be able to be there in person to celebrate with her, hug her, and cry with her (because that’s what my family does in any circumstance that slightly resembles a big deal, or when we see a sappy tv commercial. We basically react the same in both). I wish we could be there. But, Meg, know we are celebrating with you 900+ miles away and are praising Jesus for His grace in your life and for the lovely woman He has shaped you to be. We are heart-bursting proud of you and can’t wait to see all He has awaiting you in these next months and years. You’re the best baby sister in the history of all the world and we love you. 37662_1158180490106_6469860_n

So I did a little photo shoot for some sweet friends for their little girl’s upcoming first birthday and I thought I’d share just a couple of my favorite images. She’s an absolute doll and the most smiley little love! I loved taking pictures of her darling 1 year-old (almost) self!_MG_8222 _MG_8275 _MG_8310 _MG_8334 _MG_8391

I hope that you all are enjoying this Thursday, friends! Thursdays always have this extra bit of happiness for me because it means tomorrow is Friday. And I’m really thankful when Friday comes.

Leave a Reply

