happy friday // 05

_MG_8708

_MG_8711

01 // Nordstrom Rack has an online store now. Oh, happy day!

02 // some encouraging books for a mommy’s heart. 1 // 2 // 3

03 // ever thankful for John Piper and the wisdom that is poured out in his sermons. This one is no different — Marriage: Forgiving and Forbearing

04 // I want a few of these linen tees from my favorite Target store.

05 // going to try this French Macaroon recipe soon.

06 // I want to go Iceland now, thanks to The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. And the soundtrack is a good one.

07 // would love to add a pretty glass teapot and teacups to my kitchen.

08 // a good reminder about wisdom in social media.

Happy Friday, friends! Fridays only get sweeter. So thankful Friday is today.

_MG_8714

Those little feet hanging off the kitchen counter just keep growing. I’m continually more amazed at how quickly time goes by.

This week has been a challenging one, but a sweet one as well. The Lord has been tearing down the self-made rods of positivity and self-assurance that I have been holding so desperately to and deepening my understanding of how true it is that I need Him every hour. There’s no good in me apart from Him and I will continue to fall into temptation, strife and inward struggle if I try to live as a reflection of Him without living in His grace. It is He that is at work in me. I can’t do it for myself. And in that realization I am met with such sweet joy — the joy my Savior gives. The joy that meets me when I drag my exhausted, prideful, striving self to the foot of the cross and leave my sinful baggage there, looking to His glorious being as my sole sustainer and guide. The joy that stands firm in the midst of change, 2 year old tantrums, sleepless nights, discouragement, and the wonderings as to what is next for us. I can have joy. But it must be, it absolutely must be, found in Jesus.

“Preserve me, O God, for in you I take refuge. I say to the LORD, “You are my Lord; I have no good apart from you. As for the saints in the land, they are the excellent ones, in whom is all my delight. The sorrows of those who run after another god shall multiply; their drink offerings of blood I will not pour out or take their names on my lips. The LORD is my chosen portion and my cup; you hold my lot. The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance. I bless the LORD who gives me counsel; in the night also my heart instructs me. I have set the LORD always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken. Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure. For you will not abandon my soul to Sheol, or let your holy one see corruption. You make known to me the paths of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” — Psalm 16

I hope that you all have a beautiful weekend, friends!

Leave a Reply

