happy friday // 09

Happy July 18th Friday, friends!

It’s cloudy outside today which makes my cozy-weather-loving heart very happy. Our dearest friend, Anna, came over and spent the evening with our Little yesterday so that my hubby and I could venture out on the town for a much needed, long-overdue date night. And it was rather perfect.

AK and I spent the morning listening to music and baking banana bread in the kitchen which is a lovely companion to cloudy weather outside. She has become such a darling helper and I treasure those times in our tiny kitchen together enjoying her lively conversation and constant requests to “yick da bow, momma?”

IMG_8639

And AK’s day has been made by the fact that when Daddy gets off of work we are going to go swimming! As she calls it, “go to da bue pool!” Our fish. Once that girl masters the basics of swimming she is going to be a force in the water.

Before I share my Friday tidbits let me just tell you that I have been loving Kelsey Nixon’s cookbook, Kitchen Confidence. I made these Almond Scones to bring to a friends house one morning this past week and we pretty much finished the entire plate of them. Sipping coffee on their back porch, chatting, scone in hand, in low-70 degree July weather = pure bliss.

IMG_8627

01 // I read two interesting articles this morning from the New York Times: Reclaiming Our (Real) Lives From Social Media & Three Tips To Finding Social Media Balance.

02 // I made these Hummus Wraps from the Pioneer Woman this week. Delicious.

03 // Loft is having some terrific sales. Like tees and tanks starting at $5 type sales.

04 // I ordered the book, Women of the Word, as a gift for my friend this past week. I’m eager to get a copy for myself soon!

05 // My sweet friend, Liz, gifted me a new prayer journal a couple of months ago. It is from Val Marie Paper and it is my favorite. I love the design, the sections, and the encouragement that is dispersed all throughout it.

06 // I think this bedding from Anthropologie is darling. And it’s on sale! They also have several adorable tops for under $25 in their online sale section as well.

07 // On the menu for next week: Quinoa Greek Salad Lettuce Wraps from the Alaska from Scratch blog. I just began following her blog and her Instagram and, oh my goodness, talk about absolutely stunning sights! I’m dreaming about Alaska travels now.

I hope you all enjoy a pleasant and refreshing weekend!

— Jenny

Leave a Reply

