monday

It’s Monday, Monday, Monday!! Here we are at the beginning of another week. Is it just me or are the rest of you in disbelief that it is almost the end of July? And after the wonderful weather we had this past week I’m not sure if it didn’t jump to being September already. 70 degrees in late JULY. That whole “Christmas in July” deal came true for me this past week.

How was your weekend, y’all? Did you just stay home and relax? Take a trip? Go out on the town?

The ideal weekend in the Coobs household typically involves one or two outings, restful evenings at home, eating tasty food, reading time, and lots of coffee. This weekend was pretty ideal by those standards.

Starting off a Saturday indulging in these treats made for a rather wonderful morning. Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Our kid turned 15 this week. At least, that’s how it felt. She is growing up so much lately but this weekend it just seemed like she changed by the second. J and I were talking about how we don’t feel like we can soak it up enough and just when you think she’s settled in a stage for a little while she changes again. Until I became a mother I had never experienced something that made my heart be such an exact mixture of excitement and dull ache. It’s a clear reminder to me to treasure the moments that make up each day and to remember that she does not ultimately belong to us. And when I think about that I’m completely overwhelmed with what a gift it is to be her mama.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The zoo. We love the zoo. We are all fascinated with the polar bear they have at the zoo. He is always active, every time we come. AK asked if she could go swim in the “pool” with him and we told her it probably wasn’t such a good idea. A few minutes later I was commenting on how much fun the bear appeared to be having and she informed, quite seriously, “No mama. Not good idea to go swim wi him. You say (stay) here.” She looks out for me.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

I could stare at this picture all day. Talk about soaking up. I can’t get enough of these two. They are my favorites and the fact that I get to spend my everyday with them just makes me giddy. I didn’t know my heart could be so full of love and not burst. And it just keeps growing! My heart is probably nearly the size of the Grinch’s. Gosh, I just love them so much.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

The grin that was plastered on AK’s face when we surprised her with a ride on the carousel at the end of the soon trip was the best. Watching her live life has taught me so much about enjoying the simple things and living with gratitude for all the beautiful moments the Lord is gracious to give.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Spending Saturday afternoon sitting on a bench in a peaceful neighborhood haven, sipping coffee and eating chocolate chip cookies, while talking through life with my Anna friend was so lovely. She is a faithful picture of God’s kindness. Our talks nourish my heart and soul.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

So much on my mind after conversations and experiences had throughout the past few days. It’s been a sweet few days.

Grateful for:

01 // God’s glorious creation.

02 // chocolate donut frosting smeared all over my daughter’s happy face.

03 // dear friends who have taught us so much about investing in those around you.

04 // the fact that the Lord doesn’t leave us to ourselves but sanctifies and transforms us.

05 // my husband’s generosity.

06 // multiple cups of coffee a day.

07 // answered prayers.

08 // pasta.

09 // that my hubby and I relax the same way.

“Piglet noticed that even though he had a Very Small Heart, it could hold a rather large amount of Gratitude.” — A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

Happy Monday, lovelies.

— Jenny

3 thoughts on “monday

  1. Michelle

    Jen, what a wonderful weekend! I was so convicted when I read your post about treasuring the many small moments as our children are learning and soaking up life and new experiences! It’s so easy for me to push through to the next thing on my mental to-do list and not really take in the moment at hand.
    I found your post so very encouraging, friend! Thank you for sharing your family’s sweet moments with us. Makes me miss you all that much more! *Hugs*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

