happy friday // 13

2e272d2491f1ef238441bdce3d39e27e

Welcome, Friday, you beautiful start to the weekend. I’m so glad to say “hello” to you again.

How I love long holiday weekends. I love how it makes Friday come all the more quickly. What an extra addition of delight!

We have an exciting weekend ahead. The Seminary campus we live on is hosting its annual Fall Festival tonight. And this isn’t just your average fall festival. They pull out all the stops and amaze us every year with what they are able to produce! This year’s theme is The Wizard of Oz and I’m so curious to see all they have come up with, and I can’t wait to see the delight in AK’s face.

On top of that there’s birthday party planning for my Little. 3 years old next week — when did that happen? She’s all little girl now. My heart aches and thrills all at once with this growing up stuff she is doing, but, oh my goodness, it’s all so wonderfully sweet to experience.

I’m hoping to purchase our first pumpkin and mum for the year for our front stoop, and we need to trim up our little herb garden, or rather, little herb jungle.

Always in our weekend there is coffee, reading, and quiet afternoons with my guy, which is a part of the weekend I always hold dear.

What does your weekend entail, lovely ones?

01 // Smoothies are a favorite way of mine to get in some extra nutrients and good-for-you’s for all 3 of us. These recipes have been a good find. Our favorites are the Pineapple Coconut Oatmeal Smoothie and Pomegranate Blueberry Oatmeal Smoothie.

02 // Life is heavy right now for us. In times like this, I’m so thankful for the pieces of encouragement I come across on different blogs; like this post from Bethany at Cloistered Away, and this post from Carissa at Carissa Graham. Or links that sweet friends send me to posts that nourish my weary heart and remind me of the strength I have to cling to in the arms of my gentle Savior, like this post from Desiring God.

03 // I love a good striped clothing article, particularly a striped shirt. My collection only continues to grow. My sweet guy bought this one for me the other day when we were perusing sales at Gap. It is so very comfy and comes in great colors. I have plans of several outfits it will be a part of for this fall season.

04 // I’ve been scoping out gold initial necklaces on Etsy. I’d like to get one with a “J” and “A” for my darlings, but I might also do it separately and have one for J and another one for AK that I can add to, Lord willing, one day with another baby initial. So many options.

05 // I’d like to start growing my “writing” books library. I think I’ll start with Writing Tools by Roy Peter Clark.

06 // This is the cake we will be enjoying with our Little for her birthday next week. I can’t wait. I think she’ll be quite excited to help me cover it with all those brightly colored sprinkles.

07 // I picked these placemats up at World Market earlier this week. I went there not expecting to purchase anything yet, but was surprised to find they were 25% off and I could use a 10% coupon on top of that! At first I wasn’t sure if I’d get them home and love them or hate them, but they continue to grow on me. The orange, gold, and deep red colors dispersed throughout, along with the bits of blue, are the perfect combination for fall. This tea towel also found its way into my cart and I’m so glad that it did.

Happiest of weekends to you all! I hope this first weekend of this wonderful month is a sweet one for you!

xoxo,

Jenny

Leave a Reply

