in this season

I’m thankful it’s fall. I’m thankful it’s September. The wonderfully welcoming month that it always is. Fall always brings a brand new-ness to me, like a new adventure awaits me; but it also brings such a comfortable feeling, like a dear old friend who has been away for a bit too long. And that’s reason #3487 that fall is the best season of all to me.

The delightful anticipation of what fall holds was an extra bit of a welcome reprieve this year as we’ve been walking through a rather heavy season the past few months. One of those seasons in which several life things that are difficult in and of themselves to deal with are all piled on together, bringing many weight and heart-hurting days with them.

This season is one in which we are fighting for joy and contentment where we are, seeking not to compare our lot to that of others around us, seeking to rejoice with those who rejoice and not say, “I wish….”, seeking to rid ourselves of thoughts that begin with, “why, Lord?” or hold even the tiniest bit of bitterness or anxiety and throw them far away, seeking to believe what we know to be true and say, “Jesus, please make me more like You during this season and glorify You in these days.”

Our Lord is so kind, so good, and so faithful. He brings about the changing seasons, but He stays steadfastly and completely unchanged. Throughout these days He has revealed such joy to us. The best joy that there is. Joy that is found in Him. He has revealed such strength to us. Strength that is found in Him. His grace is sufficient for us (2 Cor. 12:9), His power is made perfect in our weakness (2 Cor. 12:9), His peace surpasses understanding (Phil. 4:6-7), His yoke is easy and His burden is light (Matt. 11:28-30).

There have been days where I’ve told J that I don’t think my heart can bear any more and those days hurt, they hurt so badly. In the midst of those days, though, I remember this and I praise Jesus that “therefore I have hope,”……….

“But this I call to mind,
and therefore I have hope:
The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases;
his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
“The LORD is my portion,” says my soul,
therefore I will hope in him.”
The LORD is good to those who wait for him,
to the soul who seeks him.” Lamentations 3:21-25

This weekend started off with fun, sugar, festival delights, and mental over-stimulation. Massive crowds are not our favorite situation, by any means, and we were absolutely exhausted by the end of the night, but the memories made with Anna Kate and other friends are well-worth every bit of it.

IMG_9137

IMG_9144

IMG_9151

IMG_9157

IMG_9179

The rest of the weekend was quiet and refreshing and that was a wonderful thing. Plus, the weather made a turn from humid and hot to cool and breezy which we welcomed with a chorus of “ahhhs”, giddy leaps into the air, and an evening walk.

IMG_9205

IMG_9233

I am grateful. I am grateful for…..

01 // the truth that God is God and I am not.

02 // having my little sis in the same city and for the time we are getting to spend with her.

03 // mums for our front stoop.

04 // dry air, crisp blue skies, and a cool breeze.

05 // iced coffee and milano cookies.

06 // target popcorn while birthday party shopping with my family.

07 // heart-to-heart talks with my best friend, my husband.

08 // fireworks, cotton candy, snow-cones, and bounce houses.

09 // listening to J and AK’s morning conversations over cereal.

How were your weekends, friends?
I hope you each have a happy monday!

xoxo, Jenny

One thought on “in this season

  1. Lauren Garner

    I am continually encouraged and challenged by your writing. The Lord has gifted you greatly. Even though I don’t know what your specific struggle is, I join you in the struggle of contentment. Praying for you in this season, friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

