creative rambling

ae5b1c009d482ffaab2da19d95a9b34f

Writing is a creative outlet for me. This blog is a creative outlet for me. Photography is the same. So is trying to perfect the culinary arts. Music is a part of that grouping as well. Long talks with my husband about creative plans and dreams fits that bill for me, too. My newest creative outlet: watercolors.

Painting with watercolors is so delightfully relaxing. The colors are so soft, blending so gently into one another; and it is so calming to slowly move the paintbrush back and forth, dip it into the water, brush the paint cake with it, and repeat all over again. It is simple and lovely.

These different creative outlets have challenged me and pushed me way past the edge of my comfort zone. I never had aspirations of being a photographer, but I fell in love with and married a rather handsome man who was in that profession at the time and eventually I came to fall in love with the art of photography, too. Doing photo shoots; making people feel at ease, directing them on how to best pose themselves, finding the best light, keeping everything in focus, trusting my creative instincts; all of that completely terrified me when I first picked up a camera. It still gives me butterflies now, but I love doing it. Capturing the moments, the emotions, and the personalities of people’s lives and loves is such a joy to do.

I hated writing growing up, it was such a struggle for me; but I had the best teacher ever, my darling mom, who gently pushed me and helped me to better my writing, and now, a decade later, writing is so dear to me. I am far from the best verbal communicator. Putting my thoughts into words in a clear and concise way is not my strong suit. I’m a rambler. I also seem to have strong, mentally enlightening moments late at night when I should be nodding off to dreamland, but instead, I’m causing my sweet hubby to basically prop his eyelids open as I try to solve all the problems and questions of our lives and the rest of the world’s, too. I’m a work in process. I have much to grow in as a writer as well, but writing has become such a helpful and constructive way for me to better my communication, and to share my heart, my thoughts, my hopes, my own little mental journal of life. Clicking the “publish” button for each blogpost I prepare will probably never stop causing the nerves to act up, but sharing my writing with each one of you that has been kind enough to read it has taught me so much and been such a tremendous gift. Thank you, friends. Truly.

The creativity of others is so inspiring to me. Studying the art, the photography, the recipes, the writing, the decorating, the gardening and landscaping, the music of others; this inspires me, challenges me, and encourages me. What a creative God we serve that He made us with different gifts, passions, and abilities so that we might bring Him glory in our own creative endeavors.

So, dear ones, what are your various creative outlets? I’d so love to know. Also, please share any books that have inspired you in your creativity as well! I’m always thrilled to add to my list.

Happy Monday, friends!

xoxo,
Jenny

2 thoughts on “creative rambling

Leave a Reply

