baked pumpkin donuts

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

 

One of the reasons I thrill when autumn comes along is the amount of pumpkin-flavored goodness there is to please our palettes. We discovered pumpkin donuts last autumn and our lives were forever changed. This year, I was determined to try my hand at a homemade recipe. I came across this recipe on Pinterest and it was so simple! I whipped it up this past Saturday morning accompanied by my two favorite sous chefs in the kitchen and we were thoroughly satisfied with the result.ย We added some chocolate chips to a few of the donuts, too, and the melty chocolate chips in the middle of the warm pumpkin donut were just perfection.

And, you guys, donut pans are super cheap on Amazon! I was thrilled when I came across this one for $6.79. And I was super pleased with the result it gave. I see many more homemade donuts in our future. Soon.

Baked Pumpkin Donuts

1/2 cup vegetable oil

3 large eggs

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree (canned pumpkin)

1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice, or 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon plus a heaping 1/4 teaspoon each ground nutmeg and ground ginger (I would use the individual spices, personally.)

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 3/4 cups + 2 tablespoons unbleached all-purpose flour

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease donut pans. Place all ingredients, except flour, into a mixing blow and beat together until smooth. Add flour in and stir just until smooth. Fill the wells of the doughnut pans about 3/4 full. Bake the doughnuts for 15 to 18 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted into the center of one comes out clean.

Remove the doughnuts from the oven, and after about 5 minutes, loosen their edges, and transfer them to a rack to cool. While the doughnuts are still warm (but no longer fragile), gently shake them in a bag with cinnamon-sugar.

Here is the original source of the recipe. In it you’ll also find instructions to make it into muffins, if you’d like it. Also, here’s another pin I came across for pumpkin donuts and this one has instructions for a caramel glaze, my friends. Yum.

I hope your homemade donut mornings are cozy and delicious, lovelies!

2 thoughts on “baked pumpkin donuts

  1. Julie Jones

    eeek!! I just purchased that donut pan and it should be here in time for Thanksgiving – I’m thinking these will make the perfect breakfast for me and the hubs ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    1. Jenny Post author

      Ooooo, yay! Oh, friend, you’ll love them! They will be a terrific start to Thanksgiving Day. I think we might start our’s the same way. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

