andes mint chocolate chip fudge

IMG_1588

The kitchen is my favorite place most any day of the week, but especially at the holidays. And especially for the Christmas treats. There’s no getting around it, I have a gigantic sweet tooth, and holiday treats can easily become my downfall if I don’t practice restraint. The thing I love about fudge is a little goes a long way. My mom makes the best homemade fudge and it’s so delightfully rich, so just a small slice of it curbs my craving and lasts me for a decently long while. 😉 It makes me feel better about my sweet intake that day.

My hubby and I both like a good mint & chocolate combination so there was no option but to make this andes mint chocolate chip fudge when I came across the recipe. And it was super simple to put together so, bonus!

Andes Mint Chocolate Chip Fudge

2.5 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips, divided

1 14oz can sweetened condensed milk, divided

1.5 cups white chocolate chips

1 teaspoon peppermint extract (or more, go by your taste preference)

2 drops green food coloring

1 teaspoon shortening

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips and/or andes creme de menthe baking chips

Directions:

1. Line an 8 by 8 baking pan with parchment paper. Spray paper with non-stick spray and set aside. (I didn’t have parchment paper on hand so I just sprayed the pan and was good to go).

2. In a small saucepan over low heat, melt 1.5 cups chocolate chips with 3/4 cup sweetened condensed milk, stirring occasionally. Spread melted chocolate mixture into pan and chill for 5-10 minutes.

3. In another saucepan, melt white baking chips and remaining condensed milk, stirring until completely smooth. Remove from the heat and add peppermint extract and food coloring. Spread mint layer over chilled chocolate layer. Chill for 5-10 minutes as you make the final layer.

4. Melt remaining 1 cup of chocolate chips with a 1 tsp shortening in the microwave in 30 second increments. Stir until completely smooth. Spread over chilled mint layer. Top with mini chocolate chips and/or Andes baking chips. Refrigerate at least 2 hours or until fudge is completely set (could take up to 4 hours).

5. Cut into squares. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator up to two weeks. Fudge will freeze and thaw well.

*original source from Pinterest

Happy fudge eating, friends!

2 thoughts on “andes mint chocolate chip fudge

Leave a comment