2015

jen'snewyearpic

Happy New Year, friends! January 1st, 2015 has arrived and a whole new year awaits us. An open book with fresh pages, anxious to be filled with the learnings, the adventures, the joys, the sorrows, the hopes and dreams, and the heart changes that will make up the days of this new year.

2014 feels slightly like a blur to me. I’ve never known a year to go by as quickly as this past one did. It was a year, for me, filled with being stretched, being challenged, learning so much about what was at the core of my heart and mind, learning to live in grace and proactively seek change, learning about what it means to be authentic and vulnerable, and learning to live in the joy and freedom that comes with a heart that is steadfastly trusting in God and seeking to please Him. There was a lot of hard stuff in this past year. A lot of heart-aching, mind-exhausting, emotion-wearing, grown-up hard stuff.  J and I were talking last night that it was a heavy year; but, in it all, it was a sweet one. For in all that heaviness there was beauty because the Lord was at work. His faithfulness is great and our hearts have learned to find gratitude in all things, to stand firm in the Lord’s guidance of our lives, and to yearn for Him and love Him more than we did when 2014 began. I’m so thankful.

Over the last couple of days I’ve been filling the beginning pages of my 2015 journal with my words, my desires, my hopes, and my goals for this year. There are dreams, there are practical changes, there are areas in which I desire to see myself grow and change. There are so many thoughts, wonderings, and prayers swirling around in my head on this New Years Day, and I’m excited. I will turn 27 this month, and J and I will celebrate 6 years of marriage — the best 6 years of my life. According to the name of my blog, these are sweet days. Days in which to work, to push myself, to try new things, to make a mess of my kitchen, to open up about struggles and hopes and dreams, to travel, to read, to learn, to have more dance parties, to encourage, to serve, to challenge myself, to teach, to take more pictures, to stretch my creativity, to be with family and friends, to be outside, to grow, to live simply, to write letters and make phone calls, to laugh, to cherish and to love, to soak up every bit of my darling Little, to adore and help my husband, and to depend on God’s grace everyday to do these things, to do them well, and to glorify Him in every bit of it.

I have loved taking time to deeply ponder the past year and the year ahead. It’s sweet to reflect and thrilling to look forward. As the days go by I’ll share some of those desires, hopes, and goals with you all, and know, I’d love if you felt like sharing any of yours with me. It’s wonderful to be able to pray for one another or hold one another accountable. Share in the comment section or send me an email! Truly. I’d love it.

I’m so thankful for all of you who have taken the time to read this blog of mine over this past year. Through this blog/instagram I have gained some darling friends, I have been richly encouraged by your words and prayers, and I have been blessed by your sharing bits of your life and time with me. I hope and pray you’ve been encouraged as well. I can’t wait to share more with you all this year of 2015 and I thank you now, on this 1st day of January, for spending time here on my little space.

What a gift it is to have a beautiful new year ahead! And to be able to rest in the One who gives new mercies for each new day. My heart is full to bursting!

Happy New Year, dear ones! Now go enjoy some football and tasty food.

Leave a Reply

