a book list

FullSizeRender

I’ve been filling up my book list for 2015. I love that never-ending list of book titles I’m always adding new discoveries to. It’s exciting to know that there’s always another good read waiting, eager for its pages to be cracked opened and its contents to be enjoyed.

A good book is, truly, a good friend. It’s comfortable and welcoming. It sparks creativity and imagination and deep thought. It’s inspiring, encouraging, and full of fascinating characters, profound lives, or thoughtful wisdom. It is a lovely place to escape into.

My love of reading faded for a while a couple years ago, but last year it came back, with an even healthier appetite than before. I read with a pencil or pen in hand to underline that which encourages me, challenges me, teaches me, inspires me, or pricks my creativity. What a gift to be able to read and learn!

A couple things to note with my list here: I clearly love Biographies & Memoirs. I will continually be adding to it, I’ve no doubt, especially when you lovelies heed this next point. I welcome any suggestions! I could use a couple more “light reading” books. And I hope to be able, after I finish a book, to share with you all my thoughts on why I chose to read that book and what my conclusion of the book was after turning the last page.

Bring on the rainy days and cups of toasty beverages. It’s time to read.

Biographies & Memoirs

01 || 41: A Portrait of My Father by George W. Bush  02 || Walt Disney: An American Original by Bob Thomas         03 || My Life in France by Julia Child with Alex Prud’homme  04 || These Few Precious Days: The Final Days of Jack with Jackie by Christopher Anderson  05 || Coco Chanel: An Intimate Life by Lisa Chaney  06 || Provence, 1970: M.F.K. Fisher, Julia Child, James Beard, and the Reinvention of American Taste by Luke Barr  07 || Surprised by Oxford: A Memoir by Carolyn Weber  08 || Jean Arthur: The Actress Nobody Knew by John Oller  09 || Running Away to Home by Jennifer Wilson  10 || Don’t Give Up, Don’t Give In: Lessons from an Extraordinary Life by Louis Zamperini & David Rensin  11 || Summer at Tiffany by Marjorie Hart

Heart & Mind

01 || Women of the Word: How to Study the Bible with Both Our Hearts & Our Minds by Jen Wilkin                      02 || True Beauty by Carolyn Mahaney & Nicole Mahaney Whitacre  03 || The Things of Earth: Treasuring God by Enjoying His Gifts by Joe Rigney  04 || Mom Enough: The Fearless Mother’s Heart & Hope by various contributors  05 || Treasuring Christ When Your Hands Are Full: Gospel Meditations for Busy Moms by Gloria Furman  06 || The Freedom of Self Forgetfulness: The Path to True Christian Joy by Timothy Keller  07 || Shepherding a Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp

Various

01 || Writing Tools: 50 Essential Strategies for Every Writer by Roy Peter Clark  02 || The Book Thief by Markus Zusak  03 || Major Pettigrews Last Stand: A Novel by Helen Simonson  04 || The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

What books are you darlings looking forward to diving into this year? I am eager to hear!

4 thoughts on “a book list

  1. Julie Jones

    I can’t remember if you said you had read The Paris Wife, if not – add it! The writing is excellent and it reads quite a bit like a memoir. I’ll most likely be reading Zelda as well. Same concept, but obviously about the Fitzgerald’s instead of the Hemingway’s. If you want some real fluff, anything by Sophie Kinsella is a delight. My favorite is probably I’ve Got Your Number. Also, I cannot believe you have a book by Jen Wilkin on this list! I used to have Bible study at her house when I lived in Dallas – she’s one of my favorite people.

    I cannot wait to read your reviews!! 🙂

    Reply
    1. Jenny Post author

      Adding them all! Thanks, lovely! I’m glad you mentioned Zelda. It was one I had on an old book list and forgot to transfer it, so yay. 🙂
      No way. That is so neat! I have been so eager to read this book by her and knowing that she’s a favorite of one of my favorites just makes me all the more so. 🙂

      Thanks, darling friend!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

